Department of Psychology

The department is the only government college under Calicut University offering Psychology at Bachelors and Masters levels. The Department of Psychology was established in September 2012 as an undergraduate department. To mark the growth and development, the department was upgraded to a post-graduate department in 2018. The first batch of MSc Psychology started in 2018 with a student strength of 10.

The students who completed are working in various institutions and colleges as counselors and teachers after their post-graduation.  Some students are enrolled for MPhil and Ph.D. studies and many students are currently pursuing their Post-Graduation in various universities. The Top scorers till now are Anjo George (2015-82%), Daniel M Abraham (2016-97% with 2nd rank in Calicut University), Sincy Varghese(2017), Adthiya Krishna (2018)  and Aneesha Gopalakrishnan (2019). Students of the department such as Mubarak qualified Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) and Daniel, Vishnupriya has qualified the National Eligibility Test (NET).

Within a short time, the department has earned a laudable reputation as one of the most prestigious institutions in Kerala. The student strength in each batch was previously 24 and at present, it was increased to 40 in 2019 for BSc Psychology and to 15 for MSc Psychology.

The department has a  fully equipped Psychology laboratory.

The Psychology department, right from its inception has been actively organizing extension programmes, lectures, invited talks, seminars, workshops, etc. for both students inside and outside the college. A Regional Seminar on ‘Transforming Malayali Family: Contemporary Psychological experiences’ was conducted on 11 November 2014.

Department has organized a two-day UGC sponsored National Workshop on Counselling and Psychotherapy on 15th & 16th October 2015.

The department has conducted a two-day National Seminar on ‘Qualitative Approaches in Psychological Research’ on 4th and 5th January 2019.

As part of the lecture series, the department organized a one-day session on ‘Quantitative Research Methods & Application of statistics in Psychology’ on 26th August 2019.

Established Year 2012
Programmes Offered BSc. Psychology

MSc. Psychology

Annual intake of students BSc. Psychology  – 40

MSc. Psychology – 15

Head of the Department Suresh A K

Faculties of the Department

Sl No. Name of the Faculty Designation Contact Details Photo Profile
1 Suresh A K Assistant Professor & Head 9633729854
2 Dr. Sujisha T.G Assistant Professor 9495565645
3 Vani M Assistant Professor 8105752341
4 Dr. C S Sunidharan Assistant Professor

(on contract)


View More
5 Bini P V Assistant Professor

(on contract)


View More
6 Aparna Suresh Assistant Professor

(on contract)


View More

Academic / Co-curricular Activities

Merit Day 2021 on 20th Feb 2021

Post-graduate Dept. of Psychology organizes a talk on ‘Understanding Mental Health’ on 17th Feb 2021


 Online Drawing Competition in association with the World Mental Health Day 2020